My porridge

My porridge

read more…

500 g oats (Mix of medium and jumbo)
500 g buckwheat
500 g barley Flakes
250 g wheatgerm
200 g raisins/ sultanas
400 g dried figs
150 g unsulphured apricot, chopped
100 g hulled hemp seeds
300 g sunflower seeds
200 g sesame seeds, toasted
250 g pumpkin seeds
150 g linseed
Milk (soya or goats) half and half or water.

I make a huge jar of this and it varies every time I make it up. I usually use only water, (adding milk when it’s cooked.) and I use 1/3 of the mix to 1 cup (I keep a cup measure in the jar.) of water. It’s best soaked over night and I try and remember to do this just before heading to bed.

I place it over a gentle heat whilst I get ready in the morning, stirring it occasionally for about 5 minutes.

Served with a drizzle of milk and a teaspoon of honey (usually Manuka) this really does keep me going til mid morning before hunger pangs start to nag.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, December, February, Grains, January, November, Nuts & Fruit, October, Pasta & Pulses, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

