Gooseberries and Custard

When I asked my mum Winnie what she would do with the gooseberries I’d got in my veg box, she immediately replied, “Stewed gooseberries and custard.”
 
So gooseberries and custard it will be. I had forgotten how good and simple this was, and transported me back to being a kid and mum making this with the Goose Gogs, as we called them, my dad grew. My dad also grew the red dessert gooseberries too, that tend to be sweeter and more tender that the green one’s.
 
Homemade crème anglaise is a treat, but no fancy custards here. No my mum’s custard was Birds, and was as bright yellow and as thick as you like.
 
I also really don’t like the tubs of chilled ready-made custard you buy in the supermarkets. It tastes pretty weird, and yet bland. I heard that the black flecks in this, (and often vanilla ice cream) aren’t vanilla seeds at all, but black flecks of something else! Is this true?Gooseberries and Custard

Yum, yum, yum.
 
Serves 2-3 people
 
For the gooseberries
150 g fresh gooseberries
50 g caster sugar
 
For the custard
500 ml milk
2 ½ tablespoons custard powder
2 1/2 tablespoons caster sugar
 
 
1. Tumble the gooseberries into a pan with a tiny trickle of water and the 50 g of sugar. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 3-4 minutes or until good and tender. Taste adding more sugar if needed. Remove from heat and tip into a bowl and leave to cool.
 
2. To make the custard, mix the custard powder in a large heatproof bowl with the sugar and a tablespoon or so of milk. I love this bit and take great joy in doing this with my fingers….hard, soft, squeaky, wet dry…..
 
3. Heat the milk to just below boiling point, and whisk over the custard powder mix. Wash out your pan well, pour the custard back in and return to heat. Whisk until thickened, remove from heat and pour into a bowl.
 
4. If you want to avoid a skin on your custard, (I don’t. We used to fight over this as kids) then press a piece of paper or clingfilm directly onto the custard’s surface, until it cools.
 
Serve hot or cold with the stewed gooseberries.
Little note…..Now I pimped half of the custard with ½ teaspoon of vanilla paste stirred in at the end, and although it was yummy, I agreed with Petra that actually the gooseberry flavour came through better with the plain custard…..

This entry was posted in August, July, June, Nuts & Fruit, Puddings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gooseberries and Custard

  1. Pingback: Veg Box No.3 from Organic Wick | HOT MEALS NOW

  2. Pingback: Gooseberry Mess | HOT MEALS NOW

Leave a Reply

