Kitchen Garden No. 2 Late July – Watch this little space…..

This is my Grampy with his prize onions….like my dad he was a very keen amateur gardener……this green fingered gene seems to have evaded me completely.I never usually think I have the time, space, patience or inclination for gardening, …….but I do love having some fresh herbs at hand, so I’m going to attempt growing a selection of these and a few other edible things with posts on here following my amateur triumphs…..and failures!……lets hope I remember and/or can be bothered to water them……

In my first kitchen garden post, My Kitchen garden – It’s not much, but it’s mine…… I showed you my little space I (very) loosely call my kitchen garden!……and here it is a about 3 weeks later…..early days, early days…..

PLANNING
I had found sound advice on Allotment Vegetable Growing on what I could still plant in July to harvest in the next couple of months…

JULY
”things that grow really quickly, like lettuce, radish, rocket, spinach, turnips, beetroot and carrots, and that I may still find tomato, cucumber and sweetcorn plants available.”

BUYING

I went on a search to garden centres, car boot sales, a community garden and market stalls….I only managed to get tomato out of that list above, but I bought a couple of other things too.

HERBS
I had already bought a bay tree and I still owned  a scraggy old rosemary plant. I then bought, thyme, fennel, mint, basil, tarragon and sorrel (recipes to follow soon as this grows)…..and I still need to buy a sage plant……

PLANT POTS

I found inspiration in this cute handbag plant pot I saw below, (at the very lovely Mayow Park Community Garden in Sydenham, S.E London) to use almost anything to plant things in. I drilled some holes in the bottom of a plastic tub and a kid’s plastic bucket and I found some old plant pots in my mum’s garage.

CROCKS

I got myself some crocks, (bits of broken plant pots that you place in the bottom of each pot before you add the compost, to help with drainage.) from a garden centre. (a medium small tub full of crocks for £1, but you could use a few stones or pebbles.)

PLANTING
I’m worried it may be too late, but I’ve planted a French pumpkin in the large yellow tub too. Excited like a kid about that growing….

GROWING
As I said I bought a tomato plant, which is only just in flower….

HARVEST
I had already bought a hanging basket ready planted with a cherry tomato plant. I’ve only had it a couple of weeks and I’ve already had a crop of about 40 cherry tomatoes so far……

FLOWERS
Oh yes, and a non edible Dahlia, (not shown) as this is one of my favourite flowers and the first Dahlia plant I’ve ever grown.

RECIPES
……to follow……

This entry was posted in Vegetables and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kitchen Garden No. 2 Late July – Watch this little space…..

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Garden No.3 Early August | HOT MEALS NOW

Leave a Reply

