Toffee and Thyme Parsnips

Last night I got a tweet from Kerri Palmer @dancingq5, saying that she had tried my recipe for Banana Tarte Tatin in Dinner at Mine, but that the sugar and butter remained granular when she was cooking it.

Oh dear. It rarely happens, but I hate to hear if there’s ever a problem with one of my recipes. I had originally made this Tatin for my column Cheat’s Dinner Party, (Stella Magazine) and friends……. and for the Dinner at Mine shoot, and couldn’t recall a problem with it at all. Was it the right sugar I asked? and she replied, “yes, right sugar. Should I melt the butter then add the sugar? Should I stir?……” So this morning I tested the caramel again.
…So I melted the butter a little before I put the sugar in, I did stir it and yes, it was granular. Shit. Now what. But I carried on cooking the sugar and just as it started to go deep brown in colour, it turned into smooth caramel. Phew.
I’m waiting to see how Kerri got on, but not wanting to waste this gorgeous amber caramel, (and I still had some little parsnips from last weeks veg box) I used it to make Toffee and Thyme Parsnips. Tender parsnips in creamy toffee and thyme sauce. Yum yum indeed. Brilliant with a roast, or gammon or ham……
For Toffee and Thyme Parsnips You’ll need….
70 g butter
100 g golden caster sugar
1/2 juicey lemon
A sprig of thyme if you have one
12 little parsnips (or there abouts)
6-8 tablespoons double cream
sea salt flakes and freshly ground black pepper
A 23 cm oven proof frying pan or cake tin with a solid base and a baking tray…
1. Preheat oven, 200 C/180 C fan/Gas 6. Put the pan (or tin) on the heat, add the butter, let it melt slightly, then sprinkle over the sugar.

2. Melt completely and cook stirring occasionally, until you have a deep brown melted caramel. (see notes above) Remove from heat and squeeze in the juice from the lemon and drop in the thyme.

3. Peel all the parsnips, and cut in half lengthwise and arrange tightly in the pan, overlapping slightly.

4. Sprinkle with salt flakes, cover with a lid or baking tray, place in oven and bake for 15-20 minutes or until the parsnips are tender. Drizzle over the cream, grind over some pepper and serve.
It doesn’t quite fit into my low carb, low sugar eating plan at the moment! But it’s so fucking good. Brilliant with a roast, or gammon or ham……

This entry was posted in February, January, March, November, October, Sides & Salads, Vegetables, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Toffee and Thyme Parsnips

  1. Pingback: Veg Box No.16 Early February | HOT MEALS NOW

Leave a Reply

