Diet – The Having My Cake and Eating It Diet.

A summary on the diet conversations I’ve been having so far……If you’ve never struggled with your weight, you won’t understand this. If you have, you so will.

If you haven’t read already, I’m just starting to follow a low carb diet. Not Atkins or other such plan, but my own kinda plan. I’ve always been extremely sceptical of such diets. But it’s making sense now, so time to put it to the test.

After a fair bit of research, (both the science writer Gary Taubes and Dr John Briffa have very interesting things to say.) I’ve started to believe that the low-fat, high-carb diet, that we are all mostly advised to follow, really doesn’t work for most people. Me included.

I know I need to have a healthier relationship with bread, potatoes, sugar, alcohol etc. but I never seem to quite manage it. (bread and butter is one of my Desert Island Dishes.) Diets leave me more hungry and craving more of the things I can’t have, as anyone who has ever followed a diet will recognise.

……If you’ve never struggled with your weight, you won’t understand this. If you have, you so will……

In only a few weeks of cutting back on starch and sugar, (very little alcohol since New Year.) I feel dramatically different and healthier. Yes I’ve lost some weight, but more importantly my mood is level and calm, and I feel really good. I am eating well, not feeling hungry, not wanting to snack in between times, not craving.

I want to prove that even with the restrictions of a low carb life style, I can eat amazing food. Not just ok, not diet worthy, but absolutely delicious food, I and you, want to eat. I will keep it as natural and seasonal as possible, no artificial sweeteners or overly processed foods and the like, just tasty, simple, good food, that won’t be expensive.

This is where I’ve wanted to be at for a very long time. One thing to remember is, never say never. I am not denying myself the joy of bread, potatoes, sugar or alcohol completely, but rather the enjoyment of them, every so often. Anyhow as I said, I’m not craving them anyway. Miracle!

I’m going to the Docs to check out my cholesterol etc. with a blood test, weigh in and blood pressure, (On this diet, these are often lowered, not raised.) so I’ll keep a check on myself and let you know, if you’re interested.

I need to look at my health long term, and I’m guessing the future isn’t so bright if I carry on the way I’m going. I want to be in this life as long as possible, but also healthy and happy enough to enjoy it as fully as possible, with nothing holding me back.

……If you’re really interested in all this…….then check out Woman’s Hour from last week. A woman called Sue Lyons contacted the programme to get some help as she was obese and didn’t know what to do anymore. The only person on the panel to make any sense for her, though controversial, was Dr John Briffa. (read his account of this.) The life coach also gave some interesting points, but the government advisor, Dr Susan Jebb, had little useful to add, saying nothing Sue, or I, hadn’t heard before.

Dr Jebb, I would like to say something. The low-fat, high carb and high exercise diet that you and the government are advocating, doesn’t work for most people and is possibly making most people more unhealthy. Is the government doing any detailed research on low carb diets? If not, you should be, then at least you could have a counter argument, instead of the ‘shuffle’ option you are adopting.

Simon (a low carb follower), in Indonesia, (also check out our conversation on my other post) he sent me this link for the Asian Food Channel, Big Fat Reality.  “Recent studies suggest saturated fats may not be as bad for us as we have been led to believe.” Let me know if you can get it and what you think as I haven’t been able to watch it.

A low-carb (Ketogenic) diet was introduced in the early 1920’s to treat children with severe epilepsy and is still used today, with amazing results.  “About a third of children who try the ketogenic diet become seizure free, or almost seizure free. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Diet – The Having My Cake and Eating It Diet.

  1. Katy says:

    Hey gorgeous, I have also been trying to find a diet where you can have your cake and eat it 😉 And I think I have!! I started by reading the Paleo diet based on our ancestors diets of eating anything that walks, swims and flies plus a vast range of organic fruit and vegetables-in a nut shell- you don’t eat anything that has been processed from its natural state, many grains such as mass produced rice and wheat, as this was not available to our ancestors… And research suggests many illnesses have developed because of this entering our food chain…whilst the Paleo diet appears to be a low carbohydrate diet (compared to our modern western diet) you are encouraged to eat high carbohydrate/starchy vegetables with every meal (delicious sweet and creamy butternut squash, sweet potatoes etc). Sadly, its a very difficult diet to follow all the time (and felt a little old school) so I went in search of a slightly more modern version in the form of the ‘Clean and Lean’ diet, James the author, asks you to relook at your relationship with food and actively encourages the enjoyment of eating/cooking/dining -which was music to my ears! He also recommends not eating anything that is too far away from its original state so wheat (in bread/cakes etc is still a no no). He explains why its actually refined sugar that makes us fat… And how eating fat can actually make you slim! He recommends to cut down on CRAP (Caffeine, Refined Sugar, Alcohol and processed foods) He also gives easy to follow examples to help make the right choices with BAD, BETTER and BEST options. However, perhaps most importantly, he recommends having a ‘cheat’ meal once a week so you never feel like you’re missing out on those little pleasures (for me, RED WINE or CAKE!!) The BEST cake to eat should be home-made with organic and full fat ingredients 🙂 I baked a gluten free carrot cake this weekend which was absolutely delicious. I replaced the wheat flour with coconut flour…CF is a dream come true (I use it in bread too) No bloated or guilty feelings after eating a huge slice with a mug of tea… And that’s how James recommends you eat anything naughty -make it the BEST naughty option and savour EVERY bite…

    • Katy says:

      PS I am totally behind you questioning this low fat, high carb diet being recommended to us by the goverment…what they don’t tell us is the SUGAR content in low fat foods… and all the artificial sweetners and preservatives/chemicals which have very little nutritional content and actually overload our systems which mean that we can’t process the food as effectively, putting stress on our organs so our body ends up storing it as fat…

  2. Yea I’ve done a fair bit of research and have looked at the Paleo diet. I’m trying to make sense of it all, and it’s just starting to come together. I want to be the living proof this works, be helpful and write some damn good recipes in the meantime!!

    Like that guy james said, which I totally agree with is if you are going to have something naughty, make sure it’s the best you can! Exactly! Make it a proper treat.

    I’d like to know if the government is actually commissioning detailed research into the low carb diet????

    I made creamed spinach the other day inspired by you!! Yum yum!!!

    Coconut flour! Yes I’ve been reading a bit about it. Where did you get yours? an Asian or health food shop?

  3. Kim morphew says:

    Hey . . . Good on you. . . I’m in the same boat. Coconut flour . Holland and Barrett are selling it. Good luck with it all . . X

  4. Hurrah! Hurrah! Hurrah!
    X

Leave a Reply

