Lamb with Leek Custard

It’s about 3.30 a.m and I can’t sleep, so this is what I do when I can’t sleep. I had this for dinner last night.

It will either take a couple of years off my life or might actually be very good for me. This is the sort of low carb thing I’m trying. I’ve lost weight, not crazily, but I feel happier with what I am eating and much more satisfied, so I’m not overly snacking and don’t over eat. But!! I also found myself eating loads and loads of the chocolate Tiffin in the fridge, which I was gonna take to Lous, but my god it tasted fucking good! Sorry Lou. I will try to keep some.

I’m slowly attempting to work out the best sort of low carb diet that suits me and is really, what I really want to eat. No carbs is quite strange and I feel I need to get my head round it properly, but I feel healthier not eating loads of bread, spuds and pulses. Yesterday breakfast I had yoghurt I bought in a big tub from Costcutter on Roman Road. It’s Turkish and It says 10 % fat on the side. It’s rich, silky, creamy and delicious I had it with half a passion fruit scooped out onto it. I need to find a goats milk one locally too.

So in the fridge and on the side and needing to be used were, 6 leeks, a few bits of cheese, some lemon thyme, butter, cream, eggs and very thinly sliced smoked streaky bacon, which was quite smokey potent…..and this is what I did with it all….

Lamb with Leek Custard

Of course this could also be vegetarian.

Serves 8

50 g butter

6 Leeks, sliced thinly and washed really well

sprig thyme, I had lemon thyme in the fridge

3 slices streaky bacon, cut into 2cm strips, OPTIONAL!

300 ml double cream

6 yolks and 1 whole egg

100 g comte, cut into little cubes

75 g halloumi, cut into little cubes

25 g goats cheese, cut into little cubes

However many lamb leg steaks you all think you might eat

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Melt the butter, add the leek, cook for a couple of minutes, add the thyme, season and stir and cover and leave to cook on a low heat for 5 minutes, then add the strips of bacon and cook for a few more minutes.

Beat egg yolks and the whole egg with the cream in a large bowl and drop in the leeks, cubes of cheese and season to taste and give it a stir.

I poured it into old 2 soufflee dishes, (straight sided fluted ceramic dishes for the oven.) I found when doing a bit of a spring clean today. (I hadn’t used them in a very long time.) But you could just pour it into a large baking dish and bake in a low oven 160 c for 20-30 minutes or until it’s just cooked around the edge, the cheeses have melted, and it’s still soft and moist in the centre.

I heated a frying pan to scorching, added a little oil and lay lamb leg steaks into it, I let them cook for about 3 minutes, then I turned and cooked for a further 3 minutes, as I like lamb, seared, only just pink and with crispy fat. I left them to rest for 5 minutes, and I was desperate to eat it, sitting on top of that gorgeous pile of leeky niceness.

This entry was posted in Brunch, Eggs & Dairy, Lunch, March, Meat & Poultry, Supper, Vegetables, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

