Game Sausages and Creamed Peas

I was  just thinking how green the blog was looking in the last few posts and then realised that it’s the first of May tomorrow, my favourite month.

Returning home in May after a few months travelling in South-east Asia a few years back, I was picked up from Heathrow by my brother Dave and mum and we headed back to the West Country.

After the dusty and dry landscape of Asia I had just left, I was shocked and couldn’t believe how green and lush England looked. This was the green and pleasant land so often talked about. I didn’t remember this. (I didn’t actually think it really existed) Yet I was in it. I’m not particularly patriotic, but I liked being English at that time.

May is bursting out of itself in the next few weeks. Just watch.

In the meantime here’s a little green number I tucked into a couple days ago.

Game Sausages and Creamed Peas

On Saturday I fell upon  the farmers market in Hackney Central. From a man selling game (he was also selling wild garlic at £2.50 bag….) I bought some good meaty, (not too strong) game sausages. But any sausages would be good with this. Fry, in a couple tablespoons oil until well browned all over and tender inside.

Set aside the sausages while you make the peas. This is enough for two.

All you’ll need is…enough sausages for two….an onion…a large knob of butter…250 g fresh or frozen peas…..200 ml double or whipping cream…..salt and pepper….an appetite and some love as always…..

Ok, so finely chop the onion.

Melt butter in a pan.

Add the onion and cook gently for 5-6 minutes, without colour until soft and sweet.

Tip in the peas and cook for about a minute.

Pour in the cream and season well with salt and pepper.

Put on a lid and cook for a few minutes until the peas are tender.

Check seasoning, then whiz up half of the cooked peas in a food processor, or use a stick blender, and blend until smoothish, then scrape back into the pan of peas and reheat and serve with the sausages.

Yum. Yes. Oh yum.

This entry was posted in April, Brunch, June, Lunch, Mains, May, Meat & Poultry, Supper, Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

