Sweet Enough – My sugar free year.

George_Flegel_Still-Life_with_Bread_and_Confectionary

Georg Flegel Still Life with Bread and Confectionery.

As you may have noticed, today is the day that I am giving up processed sugar for a year.

I am doing it for charity, for the Alzheimer’s Society. My dad had Alzheimer’s before he died and it was incredibly tough, both physically and mentally, for my elderly mum Winnie.

She sought solace and support in a local group ran by the Alzheimers Society, for carers of those with Alzheimer’s and dementia. She said it was the only place where everyone really understood what she was going through.

The group had to close for lack of funding. I would like to raise the money for a carers group in that area. (Frome in Somerset) Or maybe even a local weekly ‘Meet Up’ there.

Wish me luck and if you’d like to sponsor me please go to:

www.justgiving.com/annienichols

I will try and post on the blog as much as I can about my journey, but also check out my Instagram feed, instagram/hotmealsnow.com as it’s the most up-to-date on what I’m up to.

🙂 #sweetenough #mysugarfreeyear

This entry was posted in Cakes & Confectionery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Enough – My sugar free year.

  1. Thea says:

    Hello, I really admire what you’re doing. That said, I do have a question – will you be using stevia for example?

    • Hi,
      Thank you for that!

      No, I’ve decided not to use any sweetener or sugar substitute.
      I never liked them before, and I also don’t want to carry on being a slave to sweetness.
      I am also gonna try and not have honey agave (extremely sweet) or fruit syrups either.
      Wish me luck!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

