Eat My Words – Margate 2015

EatMyWordsMargate_0231_smallIn December last year, in an empty shop in Margate, Eat My Words sat quietly day and night. It’s an installation of many meanings, but the title refers to our incapacity to speak how we really feel, and instead how we often use physical actions to relay our thoughts and emotions in the hope that we will in some way be understood.

My Mum Winnie used her skills of baking, cooking and feeding to show her love for our family. Eat My Words is based on me making of one of Winnie’s cakes, (Victoria Sponge Cake) displaying the physical movements of my body via a digital map (on the base of the installation) as I moved through my kitchen. You listen to the sounds of me cooking (I do not speak), as you walk around and through the neon reconstruction of my kitchen where I  made and baked the cake.

The feedback the installation received when it was first shown at the Barbican was phenomenal and I’m just starting to really decipher it all now. It stirred up so many amazing stories of food and love from so many of the visitors. Often memories were reimagined, never having being told before, or had been buried somewhere in back of their minds.

As Eat My Words sat behind glass windows on Margate High Street, it forced a different kind of reimagining. On show but muted once more.

EatMyWordsMargate_0231_small

Eat My Words 2015- Mixed media and neon.

Originally shown at the Barbican, London (21st to 23rd August 2015), as part of the Fish Island Labs showcase, Interfaces.

This entry was posted in Art, Cakes & Confectionery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eat My Words – Margate 2015

  1. I wish I’d seen that installation – I live not far from Margate. I started following your blog a week or so back I think without knowing you had a local connection! I can’t remember how I came across your blog now, if you’ve written something about perfecting pastry then it was probably while I was searching for that!

    • Hi Vanessa!

      I hope to show the installation again soon. Love the fact that we are both local!
      Thank you for following my blog! I promise to get back on posting more regularly, but in the meantime if you have any questions about cooking, (and anything else!) then don’t be shy about asking. I have a fair few years of experience (more than I’d ever like to admit to!!) that I’m very, very happy to share with you. I’m here if you need me:)

      Warmest of wishes
      Annie
      🙂

  2. kent.all-in-one-place.co.uk says:

    Reblogged this on Kentallinoneplace's Blog and commented:
    Wonderful Margate installation
    I love #Margate and all that goes on in #Thanet

  3. Diana Mountford says:

    Hi Annie, I have just caught up with your installation as I am in the middle of some writing about British favourites like Victoria Sponge! Do let me know if you are going to do this installation again and where. I love the concept. Diana

    • Hi Diana!
      The installation is still up in Margate for a week or two more and we should be having a little party at the end. I’ll let you know when it is. I’d love to hear more about your writing too!
      Warmest wishes
      Annie
      🙂

Leave a Reply

